Blogging: it still matters

I realised about a year ago that I wouldn’t be a journalist, and overtime I’ve become increasingly comfortable about that decision.

At the time I came to that quite painful realisation, I thought it was also time to give up writing altogether. Writing blogs, if it didn’t ultimately lead to journalism was to me like buying shopping and then throwing it in the bin: a worthless waste of time.

Now I see things differently, and actually think I’m pretty lucky. I’m not tied to deadlines, what I write isn’t edited, and nobody can accuse me of “lazy journalism” although the lazy part would certainly be apt.

My failure to get a nomination for a football blogging award did smart, but unlike many others I cannot claim to feel legitimately hard done to. I didn’t deserve to win, and I won’t, which is justice served. I’ll leave winning stuff to the genuinely talented or popular.

However, much as I thought it might, it didn’t kill my passion for blogging.

The freedom to write something uncensored and original is a source of great pleasure to me, and getting positive feedback from my small audience is still richly rewarding.

I might be bitter about not getting any readers anymore (I could post naked pictures of myself and be confident that nobody would see them, such is my shortage of readers), and I often lose faith in myself, but I very much think blogging is greatly needed.

Good bloggers are able to tell us stories others won’t touch and introduce concepts that are still hot and fresh.

It’s a great way for people who want to write to find a medium to express their voice, and for those skilled or lucky enough it offers a potential route into journalism.

It’s my intention now to promote good blogs, and more significantly good writers through a top 25 bloggers post. I’ll promote their blog and hopefully introduce readers to the best writers outside the mainstream.

As for me, I’ll write occasionally, I’ll throw hissy fits when nobody reads my posts, but I’ll do it for nothing more than love of writing

6 thoughts on “Blogging: it still matters

  1. Blogging has one key issue. Lack of quality control. Whilst there are excellent thinkers out there, few can write. Whilst others can craft a natty paragraph but they have bog all to say.

    Finding a good blog is increasingly like looking for the proverbial needle. Too much pish out there from failed writers trying to prove how clever they are. By and large, they aren’t.

    Dare to question a half-cocked idea and be prepared for a barrage of abuse from a half-pissed hipster rocking in his suede armchair listening ironically to Depeche Mode. Only confirmation bias allowed in the blogosphere.

    I don’t include you in the detritus. But it’s hard to find the good bits amongst the mass of bollocks.

    Me, I can’t write. I have ideas. That’s why I use them to work in the sport and get paid handsomely. Know your strengths, exploit them. Know your weaknesses and don’t publicise them.

  2. I think I got less than 5 votes in the FBAs but then I only started my own blog a month or so ago. I’d been blogging/writing for other sites before that. I too had/have similar aspirations to “be discovered” but it’s all a bit fanciful really. Still, I have made some good connections and, I hope, friends through it (you know who you are) so all good

    • I don’t think I got any votes on the FBAs at all either – so I’d say five is a pretty good haul! If I’m honest I have to say that when I started my football blog just over a year ago I had some vague hopes that I’d get noticed by someone somewhere and have if not a career then at least a lucrative sideline in writing. I’ve had a few successes, but a fair bit of frustration and dissapointment to go with it – I mean there’s nothing like slogging away on an article to see that it’s been read by one person.

      Looking at it objectively, us football bloggers are no different to the aspirant singing-into-a-hairbrush types that show up to x-factor. If we’re good we get to boot-camp, if we’re really good we get to the judges houses, but odds are always stacked against us.

      My view is – like you say – that we need to take a different attitude. I’m now also just doing it for the enjoyment (though I’m kinda addicted to the buzz of seeing a piece in print). I also think football bloggers need to work together more. Don’t get me wrong there’s some great examples of collaboration out there, but just myself I’m planning on doing some more regular lists of my favourite blogs and do some #ff’s on Twitter.

  3. Pingback: 11 Common Blogging Mistakes That Are Wasting Your Audience’s Time | MIX-MAG

  4. Pingback: My Debut Season on Twitter | Beware Flying Footballs

Leave a Reply

